RSS Feed

Who’s a good little spooky DIY maven? You are! Yes you are!

As you probably all have guessed by now, I wasn’t the kind of little girl that liked doilies and gluing little sparkly things on to other little sparkly things. In fact, I distinctly recall strategically distracting party goers at my childhood best friend’s birthday party with a little stand up comedy routine, just to avoid participating in the upcoming crafting activity.

That’s me in the back, mid-routine. I had just flown in, and boy, were my wings tired!

But, alas, my distractions were more jealousy than anything else. I’ve always admired DIY practitioners, and often wished I were one of them.

Enter Krysten Brown, a designer friend of mine here in Austin. When I was asked to write an article on last minute Halloween DIY decorations, she stepped up to the plate, guiding me through a series of spooktacular Halloween designs until we had just about the coolest DIY house the undead world has ever seen. Afterwards I sat down with my laptop, pulled a mic to my mouth and did a little routine.

Check out the results at the article below, and DIY your own home in the most spooktacular of ways.

Last Minute DIY Guide to Halloween Decorations…of Awesomeness.

About leahkaminsky

Leah Kaminsky is a writing consultant and writer from Austin, TX. She received her MFA in Fiction Writing from the University of Washington in 2009. As a freelance writer, she has covered a variety of topics ranging from "This Is Why You Should Buy This Particular Stapler" to "How To Throw a Party P Diddy Style." Her fiction writing is alternatively absurd and lyrical, but not often at once. If you're looking for Leah Kaminsky, the writer/doctor from Australia, I am sadly lacking the accent and the med degree (sorry mom). Check out her wonderful writing at http://leahkaminsky.com.

One response »

  1. Spooktacular article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers

