RSS Feed

Can’t Finish What I Started

I’m not sure if you know this about me, but I’m a master of beginnings. As in, my MFA really stands for, “Master of First Attempts.” But middles? Ends? Yeah, not so much. Let’s just say if my hard drive is a vast desert, story beginnings bounce like tumbleweeds over the horizon. And there I am, dragging my parched, sunburned body along the sand, just trying to capture one of them – any of them — in my maniacal story web. How’s that for dramatic imagery?

Rather than attempting to give this post an end here, I’ll toss you over to Write By Night, who have been kind enough to publish my musings on the subject of beginnings that have no end. Here’s the article. Voila! Go forth! Complete something for once!

About leahkaminsky

Leah Kaminsky is a writing consultant and writer from Austin, TX. She received her MFA in Fiction Writing from the University of Washington in 2009. As a freelance writer, she has covered a variety of topics ranging from "This Is Why You Should Buy This Particular Stapler" to "How To Throw a Party P Diddy Style." Her fiction writing is alternatively absurd and lyrical, but not often at once. If you're looking for Leah Kaminsky, the writer/doctor from Australia, I am sadly lacking the accent and the med degree (sorry mom). Check out her wonderful writing at http://leahkaminsky.com.

2 responses »

  1. I can’t write without an end in mind. But then when I get there, I end it too hard. Like I’m jumping up and down on the ending. Does that make sense? No subtle hand here. Anyway, I loved your article.

    Reply
    • Thanks! Glad you enjoyed. And yes, that definitely makes sense. Sometimes I do that too. In fact, as the story goes on, that’s when I find myself walking a fine line between my analytical, English lit crit brain, which wants me to jump and scream, “Hey! This is the big theme! This is the moral!”, and my creative writer, which is all about show don’t tell. And, when I’m more subtle, I’m left wondering, is it as ambiguous to other people as it is to me? All of these things contribute to trouble settling on an ending!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers

